On Metacritic: BioShock 2: How does it compare?
BNET Business Network:
BNET
TechRepublic
ZDNet

January 5th, 2006

New rogue is SpyAxe clone

Posted by Suzi Turner @ 10:01 pm

Categories: Spyware/adware warnings

Tags:

I just learned about new supposed anti-spyware program, an identical twin to SpyAxe. SpyAxe got number one on the 2005 top ten rogue anti-spyware list. This new app is called SpywareStrike and I wouldn’t be surprised to hear that it is downloaded with spyware just like its twin SpyAxe. the SpywareStrike website is identical to the SpyAxe site except for the name.  The domain registration information looks familiar, too.

Domain Name: SPYWARESTRIKE.COM

Registrant:
    Keramitsu  LLC
    David Alan Taylor       
    321th Melburn Street
    Seattle
    Washington,98107
    US
    Tel. +207.9545521

Like the SpyAxe.com registration information, this looks bogus. The domain is also registered through Estdomains, which I recently found out is an ICANN accredited registrar. (Shame on ICANN.)  The website shares the IP address with SpyAxe.com and is hosted by Netcathosting in the Ukraine.  Netcathosting got SANS most hated IP of the year.

A new fake security site is starting to show up on anti-spyware help forums, securitycaution.com (link goes to whois information, not the site). You can see a screenshot of the website here.  When I went to the page, it popped up a fake Internet Explorer warning saying I’m infected with spyware with a link to an "official Anti-Spyware website". The page says "Your private info is collected by W32.Sinnaka.A@mm", just like the other bogus security sites we’ve seen. The web page is advertising several anti-spyware programs, all on the Rogue/Suspect Anti-Spyware list. 

In all the WMF exploit excitement, I didn’t get a chance to blog a great write up by Mark Russinovich, (he’s the Sysinternals programmer that broke the Sony DRM rootkit story.)  Mark wrote about the Antispyware Conspiracy. Highly recommended reading. Excerpt:

The most innocuous of malware-like antimalware behaviors is to advertise with web site banners and popups that mislead average users into thinking that they have a malware problem. Most of the advertisements look like Windows error dialogs complete with Yes and No buttons, and although the word "advertisement" sometimes appears on the dialog background, the notice is usually small, faded and far from the area where users focus their attention. Even more unlike Windows dialogs, however, is the fact that clicking anywhere on the image, even the part that looks like a No button, results in the browser following the underlying link to the target page.

Mark provides screenshots and detailed descriptions of the deceptive practices.

In other news, Brian Krebs at SecurityFix wrote about the two rogue anti-spyware companies sued by the FTC last year. MAXTHEATER, INC. and Trustsoft settled with the FTC. The FTC release can be found here.

Unfortunately, I don’t think the FTC can take any action against the people behind SpyAxe and similar rogues that are hosted in places like the Ukraine and have domains registered through rogue registrars like Estdomains.

Related Discussions on TechRepublic

Did you know you can take part in these discussions with your ZDNet membership?

  • Talkback
  • Most Recent of 5 Talkback(s)
RE: New rogue is SpyAxe clone
http://www.analogstereo.com/ferrari_456m_owners_manual.htm... (Read the rest)
Posted by: gg_forums Posted on: 05/04/08 You are currently: a Guest | | Terms of Use
I went to the site  tracy anne | 01/06/06
spywarestrike removal  ugnius | 01/06/06
SpywareStriker remove successfully  gabesa | 01/08/06
SpywareStrike remove successfully  gabesa | 01/08/06
RE: New rogue is SpyAxe clone  gg_forums | 05/04/08

What do you think?

SponsoredWhite Papers, Webcasts, and Downloads

advertisement
Click Here

Recent Entries

Top Rated

    advertisement

    Archives

    Favorite Links

    ZDNet Blogs

    White Papers, Webcasts, and Downloads

    SmartPlanet

    Click Here