December 12th, 2006
Sony and the fake PSP blog
[Updated: Dec 15, 2006 @ 3:30 am] Looks like the plug has been pulled on the blog and the whole site's been deleted.
Have you seen Sony's latest attempt top get people buying PSPs? It's a fake blog called All I Want For Xmas is a PSP, run by the ad company ZIPATONI. It goes to show how low companies will go to try to push their products onto an evolving market.
Here's the first post, which will give you a feel for the blog:
i (charlie) have a psp. my friend jeremy does not. but he wants one this year for xmas.
so we started clowning with sum not-so-subtle hints to j's parents that a psp would be teh perfect gift. we created this site to spread the luv to those like j who want a psp!
consider us your own personal psp hype machine, here to help you wage a holiday assault on ur parents, girl, granny, boss – whoever – so they know what you really want.
we'll let you know how it works for us. pls return the favor.
more to come,
c&j.
Now, after the whole fake Wal-Mart blog fiasco, I would have thought that companies would ahve received the message loud and clear that this kind fo thing steps over the mark (I don't think that Edelman will be suggesting any more fake blogs anyway). But it seems that some ad companies still think that this kind of behavior is still acceptable.
What's really sad about this blog is that the visitors have already worked out that it's a fake blog and are posting hundreds of comments to that effect.
Here's a few of my favorite comments:
- Wow. Could you guys be any more blatant? Printing out a Sony PSP ad? Are you really counting on people to be that gullible. What an insult.
- This is horribly pathetic.
- This site has single-handedly convinced me to buy a DSLite. These guys should work for Nintendo. PSP has never looked so unappealing as it does right now.
What's pathetic is that whoever's behind the blog is still at the denial stage and is coming out with comments such as this one:
yo where all u hatas com from… juz cuz you aint feelin the flow of PSP dun mean its sum mad faek website or summ… youall be trippin.
Want proof that the site is a fake that belongs to an ad company? Just check out the WHOIS info:
Registrant:
the ZIPATONI co.
Gregory Meyerkord
555 Washington Ave. 3rd Floor
St. Louis, MO 63101
US
Registrar Name….: REGISTER.COM, INC.
Registrar Whois…: whois.register.com
Registrar Homepage: www.register.comDomain Name: alliwantforxmasisapsp.com
Created on…………..: Tue, Nov 14, 2006
Expires on…………..: Wed, Nov 14, 2007
Record last updated on..: Tue, Nov 14, 2006Administrative Contact:
the ZIPATONI co.
Gregory Meyerkord
555 Washington Ave. 3rd Floor
St. Louis, MO 63101
US
Phone: +1.3142312400Technical Contact:
Registercom
Domain Registrar
575 8th Avenue
New York, NY 10018
US
Phone: +1.9027492701
Lame.
Adrian is a technology journalist and author who has devoted over a decade to helping users get the most from technology. He also runs a popular blog called The PC Doctor. See his full profile and disclosure of his industry affiliations
Want to get in touch? Got a tip? Feel free to drop me a note! I ALWAYS respect anonymity. I'm also on Twitter (@the_pc_doc)
Right to Reply: Should any industry representatives wish to comment on any posts on Hardware 2.0, I will be happy to publish their reply verbatim on this blog.
Subscribe to Hardware 2.0 via Email alerts or RSS.










